top of page
Search

My essay for my PgCert in Autism. Completed in 2021

Updated: Nov 23, 2021

Do Autism theories create negative perceptions of Autistic people?


I shall begin with a bit about me as the writer. I am a 43-year-old Autistic full-time mother to two charismatic boys aged 3 and 7. The older one is Autistic, like me, and the younger one is not. I was identified Autistic last year (June 2019) and my son Identified Autistic 11 days later.


Watching my first born develop was very much like a reflection of me. I felt I had an innate connection on how best to parent him. My second child not so. He is more of an intriguing creature to me who has abilities different to mine that give him insight into what seems like a parallel universe, that for me is beyond reach.

This leads me on to sharing my level of expertise in the Autism field. I feel I have a relatively good command of this subject because I am Autistic, my child also and I have been working alongside Autistic Deaf and Deaf/Blind people my whole working life.


I feel it important to mention; I am one definition of Autism and I can only share how I perceive the world. This assignment is based on my opinion and academic research.


Terminology:

I shall use the word Autistic person rather than ‘person with autism ’because I believe Autism not to be an accessory but an intrinsic part of that individuals brain wiring that influences their very being (Kenny et al., 2015).

When I refer to ‘us ’or ‘we’ I refer to the Autistic community.

I will use Predominant Neurotype (PNT) rather than just Neurotypical (NT) because to use PNT I am referring to what is currently understood to be the dominant neurotype, the one that other neurotypes are compared and controlled by. (Beardon, 2017).

Neurodiversity. Coined by social scientist, Judy Singer in 1998. A neutral term that carries the notion of dignity and acceptance of neurological differences. (Baron-Cohen, 2019)

Symbols. By this I mean words and pictures. Symbols can be shared but the meanings associated with them vary depending on the culture they exist within. (Geng, 2010) The meanings are relative and unique to the individual and how they perceive the information. The word ‘cat ‘to one person could hold warm loving feelings but to another cause them to start itching at the very thought. Allergies/negative experience. Either way, the symbol is the same but each person’s perception of its value or meaning will vary. (Beardon, 2017)

Spikey profile. A term used for Autistic people who exhibit high strengths in one area whilst experiencing disabling difficulties in another. (Beardon, 2017.) An example of this might be to excel in the sciences but be dumbfounded by social communication or sorting the laundry.

The DSM-5 diagnostic criteria for 299.00 Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a standardised guide to help diagnose ASD. (CDC, 2016)

I am Autistic. (I used capitals intentionally) let me explain: In Deaf culture. Deaf is associated with the Biological Psychological Social model (BPS), whereas, deaf attributed to the medical model. Deaf people see their differences as a cultural identity, not a disability. deaf people see themselves as disabled, often losing their hearing later in life (“National Association of the Deaf - NAD,” 2019).

There are many theories that try to define Autism and almost hermetically seal it into a neat package. Autism has been described many times by many different theorists, each perceiving it in their own way. One of the founding fathers, 1930’s Dr. Hans Asperger, referred to Autism as “Autistic psychopathy (or the abnormality of personality.)” (Feinstein, 2011) page 10.

This is just one example but demonstrates, even after all this time, Autism is still gravely misunderstood. Recent studies show the average life expectancy of an Autistic person to be 36-54 years compared to the general public at 70 years. The reason for death, for those Autistic people with above average intelligence, was suicide. Those with below average intelligence, was due to health conditions like epilepsy. (Hirvikoski et al., 2016) “That is why we need Acceptance and changes around what is deemed “appropriate”. (“Signs of Autism | AUsome | How to identify an Autistic person,” 2020)

Autism is currently seen as both a complex neurological difference and disorder (National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, 2000).

In my opinion I see Autism as a different way of thinking and interacting, a natural variation of what it means to be human. I see the world with fresh eyes taking things at face value, building up from a blank slate through my filterless lens. (Ford & Hamilton, 2010)

I feel it is important to explain how Autistic and PNT brains differ. My reason is, being Autistic does not give me innate knowledge into why my brain works the way it does, and I suspect the same goes for PNT’s.

Simply put, Autistic people think literally and PNT’s think symbolically. (Pearson, 2020)

PNT’s use a filter down approach and start with concepts then apply them to circumstances. Autistic people build up from scratch, starting with circumstances then linking them to concepts, so for PNT’s communicating with Autistic people they may share the same words/symbols, but the meaning associated with those words may differ, (Ford & Hamilton, 2010) often resulting in misunderstandings. The inexperienced PNT might assume that the Autistic person is alien, be seen to recoil and subsequently invite an awkward reaction from the Autistic person. (Sasson., et al, 2017)

“The NT belief web is value-laden: there is an emotional affinity or repulsion with each symbol.” And those values are linked with a person’s identity. (Ford & Hamilton, 2010) page 21. An example of this: ‘Beethoven is great ’or ‘Autism is an affliction ’becomes a cultural truth that is nearly universally accepted and rarely evaluated. (Ford & Hamilton, 2010) page 32. Maybe the only reason the term disorder is used is because there are more PNT’s than Autistic’s. (Beardon, 2018)

I shall firstly explain what each model of disability is, weigh up the pros and cons of each and from this describe what inclusion means to me within the Autism field. I shall then identify the three main theories of Autism, supporting and challenging the theories using academic research and reflecting on each one personally and then conclude my findings.


Here is a sketch I did to pictorially explain the differences between the three models of disability:





The medical model of disability focuses its attention on what is wrong with the disabled person - the impairments disable the person. (Scope, 2014)

“A compassionate or just society should invest resources to attend to cure disabilities medically or to improve functioning” (http://www.livingwithcerebralpalsy.com/social- disability.php)

Early 20th Century society saw disabled people as a burden on society, a risk to the health of the nation and should not be allowed to pollute the gene pool. (“Disability in the Early 20th century 1914-1945 | Historic England,” 2019)

Autism through the lens of the medical model is described as a biomedical, cognitive disability - a ‘deficit model’, which first emerged in the 1940’s. (Baron-Cohen 2002, 2004; Frith 2003; Kanner 1943.)

This model could be useful on a purely scientific level for research and data recording. Beneficial, maybe, for an able-bodied person who suffers spinal paralysis leaving them unable to independently control their legs. The identity they are familiar with might be what they want returned, and science could give them that. But someone born unable to walk might not want what they never had, seeing their differences as valid as the natural variations in hair colour and height. Beneficial also because access to disability benefits requires a medical diagnosis and gives legal protection under the Equality Act 2010. (Government Digital Service, 2012)

My criticism of this model; sadly, the medical model is not applied on a purely scientific level. It spills over into areas it has no business in, creating restrictive perspectives that invite beliefs that pigeonhole and shame disabled people for being different. The medical model fails to consider environmental, social and cultural influences on disability, removing flexibility and dehumanising disabled people. My reasoning for this; I am not shaped by one factor but by many and by having my differences identified as a problem, a deficit,

undoubtedly has negative influences on how I view myself, affecting how I present myself to the outside world.

The diagnostic criteria for Autism vary from one assessment measurement to another and “establishes the fact that we don’t yet have any consensus in terms of how we collectively understand autism.” (Beardon, 2017. Page 29)

One clinical guidebook; DSM-5, uses medical model terminology, presenting Autism as a disorder, a deficit. (CDC, 2016) This leads me to believe there is little consideration for the consequences these words can have in the hands of professionals with power and influence, sewing seeds of failure that filter down through society, rarely challenged because of the culture of societal trust invested in the medical sector. (Swaine, 2011)

In 2020 a study called ‘Attend less, Fear more ’aimed at examining reactions of Autistic and non-autistic toddlers to social, non-social and ambiguous threats. (Macari, Vernetti, & Chawarska, 2020). The ethics of methodology has been, in my opinion, rightly questioned. The argument used to permit the research; ‘autism causes young children distress’, at the emotional expense of the 42 Autistic and 22 typically developing children’s experiences. (Horowitch, Dec 18, 2020) What if we turned the tables and medicalised Neurotypical people as having “Neuro Typical Syndrome” and “Social Dependency Disorder” Dekker.M. Page 58. (Kapp, 2020)



The social model is defined as Society not meeting the needs of disabled people and Society seen as disabling the person, not their impairment. “it is not the inability to walk that

prevents a person entering a building unaided but the existence of stairs that are inaccessible to a wheelchair-user. In other words, ‘disability ’is socially constructed.” (http://www.livingwithcerebralpalsy.com/ social-disability.php)

In 1945, the Father of the Paralympic movement, Dr. L. Guttman was the first to note the therapeutic benefits of sport for physically disabled people. Not only for improved physical strength but self-respect and mental well-being. (“The History Press | Dr. Guttman and the Paralympic movement,” 2012) Then in 1972, the Union of the Physically Impaired Against Segregation (UPIAS) was conceived through the writings by Paul Hunt to the Guardian. (Hunt, 2020) lead the way for a disability movement named “the big idea” that enabled disabled people to gain crucial adjustments like ramps and lifts. (Chown et al., 2017)

In my opinion, the social model placing blame on society is unfair. I am Autistic, I do not expect to be pandered to. I will not play the ‘poor me ’game. I may struggle with sensory overload but there are factors that I can change. (Noise cancelling headphones and distancing myself from the stimulus) Simply put; Life owes me nothing.


The Social model, in my opinion, approaches each difference with an aim to remove obstacles, giving each person freedom to access. No focusing on ‘fixing ’the disability just accepting disability as legitimate and not a “redefinition of the problem”. (“Disability Models, Tragedy, and Identity – Change.org Autism Issues Archive,” n.d.)

Adjustments that are flexible and sensitive, while achieving their goal, is in my view essential. An example of this – Sunflower lanyards. I personally do not feel comfortable

wearing one always because I feel that I lose control of who I disclose my differences to. Keeping it in my pocket and presenting it when I feel necessary. My reason for this - after my Autism diagnosis I naively shared my ‘good ’news. It provoked unexpected reactions of pity, and rejection. In hindsight, a post Autism diagnosis/identity guide would have been appreciated.

There appears to be an assumption that being unconventional is a marker of a lesser being, a problem. Here is an example: Autistic people are expected to perform PNT social norms like making eye contact and small talk. Communication is a two-way street - a mutual responsibility should be adopted by all involved. (Fletcher-Watson & Happé, 2019)

With a little imagination and innovation, reasonable adjustments can enable Autistic people to be a minority group with ‘biological citizenship’ akin with other groups marginalised due to race, class and gender. (Hughes, 2009. Page 7)



The Bio/psycho/social model considers not only the elements of biology but, psychological and socio-environmental factors associated with disability. (Borrell-Carrio, 2004)

This model was conceived by George Engel in 1977. Biological being physical health, genetic vulnerabilities and effects of drug exposure. Psychological being coping skills, social skills, family background, self-esteem, and mental health. Social being; peers, family circumstances, family relationships, trauma, and work (physiopedia, 2013).

Recognising the correlation between these elements, allows for a holistic approach. For example, the use of brain scans to determine the natural differences between Autistic and PNT brains and the educating of both Neurotypes on how Autistic and PNT brains work to create a common understanding that encourages growth, appreciation and acceptance. This is, I believe, essential - not only for minority groups but all human beings because many people experience ill health that impairs their typical ability to function at some point during their life. (Borrell-Carrio, 2004)


This model, in my opinion, encourages society to take a step back and not just focus on the medical or the social model but a holistic approach where every aspect of being human is considered. Each layer of humanity playing its part in a complex chain of events that spans lifetimes. I feel this model could steer the way towards a more accurate identification of difference, enabling the development of individually tailored, humane care and the promotion of healthy symbiotic clinical-patient relationships. (Swaine, 2011)

A positive association of Autism would allow freedom to disclose said Autism without fear of judgement or being treated as a lesser person. Negativity and limitations set by those around you would, likely, no longer exist. You would be empowered to achieve your innate potential. (Borrell-Carrio, 2004)

I feel the BPS model is the most comprehensive lens that, in a perfect world, should be adopted universally so that humans develop deeply ingrained beliefs - all humans are created equal no matter what the difference.


What does inclusion mean to me within the Autism field?


I see Autism as a natural human difference that plays its part in enriching and strengthening humanity, increasing our ability to adapt to environmental change, improving chances of survival. (Furlan et al., 2012) I see Autism through the BPS model as a “cognitive, perceptual and sensory difference.” (Chown, Beardon.)

Assessing Autistic people against PNT norms is like comparing cats with dogs. A cat cannot be more dog and a dog cannot be more cat. (Beardon, 2020.) If Autistic people are being compared against standardised, PNT criteria, then they are being set up to fail. (“Is Autism a Disorder? | Luke Beardon: Perspectives on Autism,” n.d.)

If equipment designed for blind people did not include input from the Blind community then surely the outcome would be the production of resources that do not meet need. So why would it be assumed that Autistic insight would not be a key contributor in Autsim research?

One possible reason for the lack of Autistic input may be a consequence of Autistic people not achieving their potential in the education system due to ignorance, incorrect labels and a system that does not meet need. (Beardon, 2020)

I feel the internet has created a lifeline by giving us a platform to be our true selves. No awkward, typical PNT social expectations. Dekker.M. (Kapp, 2020) I can engage safely from home, feel heard, accepted and have time to think about what I want to say before I say it, which isn’t always possible out in PNT society.


Some people refuse the label ‘Autistic’ believing it creates problems. My argument - correct labels are useful and enable a shared common understanding. Incorrect labels are damaging. Growing up not knowing I was Autistic, I was cruelly labelled and rejected triggering complex mental health issues and a distorted sense of self. Had I known why I was different I believe I could have deflected the negativity thrown at me.

The Autistic Spectrum is often mistaken as a measurement of severity. The spectrum represents the wide range of developmental differences in skills, intellectual disability and command of language within the Autistic community. (Kapp, 2020)

Each Autistic individual has a spikey profile that is unique and relative to them. Society does not see a Springer Spaniel as less of a dog than a Whippet or a Siamese more cat than a Rag Doll. (Beardon, 2020.) and If society accepts, without question, variety in animals then why not in humans? Acceptance of all and appreciation of variety.

In order for Autism research to be truly inclusive and complete it would require the input of the whole Autistic community to bridge the cross-cultural divide. (Chown, 2017)

For the development of meaningful solutions between Autistic and PNT’s there needs to be a collaboration of Autistic people, PNT’s, professionals and researchers. (Robertson, 2009)

Another factor I feel needs considering is, through what lens (in terms of disability model) are professionals in the Autism field looking because differing attitudes towards Autism could subconsciously influence the interpretation of results. (Sanbonmatsu, Vanous, & Posavac, 2014)

Theory of Mind (ToM)


I would describe ToM simply as the ability to put yourself in the shoes of another. Many autistic theories state that Autistic people lack ToM because they struggle to understand the intentions, feelings and beliefs of others. (Brewer, Young, & Barnett, 2017)



Here is my pictogram to support this idea:




ToM does not consider different types of empathy. Somatic empathy, (feeling the pain of others) which many Autistic people experience. (https://www.facebook.com/verywell, 2019) The Double Empathy problem. (Milton, 2012) and Cross Neurological ToM. (Beardon, 2015) identify PNT’s and Autsitcs lacking ToM. However, Milton’s ‘Double ’implies equality, ignoring the PNT’s assumed superiority that creates systematic imbalance. (Lechêne, 2021, n.d.) Whereas Beardon’s ‘Cross Neurological ’maintains a biological focus.

Failing to create environmental adaptations that enable Autistic people demonstrates PNT lack of empathy. (Fletcher-Watson & Happé, 2019) an example: The able-bodied architect adding steps to their drawings.

Organisations such as The National Autistic Society exist because, so few fully appreciate what it means to be autistic. (Milton, 2018)

One ToM assessment on 3-4-year-old PNT and Autistic children involved listening to two stories. In one story a character is thinking about a dog, in the other the character is holding a dog. The PNT children were able to distinguish between the mental and physical experiences in each story. The Autistic children’s response was deemed impaired. (“(PDF) Theory of Mind in normal development and autism,” 2001)

In my opinion, there are too many unstated variables to consider. By this I mean, were the possibilities of PNT children developing these abilities earlier than Autistic children, unknown hidden disabilities, inaccessible language, environmental factors like, unfamiliar settings and strangers triggering anxiety (Iyer, 2012) considered?

Dyslexic people being disabled, not by language itself, but by the way in which the language is presented.

Pictorial languages like Mandarin pose less of an obstacle to the dyslexic brain than languages that use letters to represent sound, like English. (Raj, 2021.)

The Sally Ann test; Two puppets. One called Sally, the other called Ann, a box and a basket. Sally places a marble in the basket and moves out of sight. Ann, seen by the child, moves

the marble over to the box. Sally comes back into sight and the child is asked where they think Sally will look for the marble. 20% of autistic children had no problem deciphering the correct place where Sally would look (the basket) (SuperUser, 2013). Demonstrating ToM to be not universal to Autism.


Lack of ToM is also found in people with schizophrenia, which does not manifest until adulthood, so not unique to Autism. (FRITH, 2004). I find it difficult to see specificity of ToM in Autism because it does not explain sensory sensitivity.

If ToM is not lacking in Autistic people but neurologically not able to comprehend the PNT’s perspective and the Autistic perspective not intuitively understood by the PNT then this could be why each Neurotype assumes that because their view does not share the same perspective, then it cannot exist. Beardon. L. (2017.)

This invites me to believe that concluding ToM to be lacking in Autistic’s, not only fails to acknowledge differences in perspective, but demonstrates an assumption, by the majority, that anything unconventional is deemed incorrect.


Executive Functioning (EF)

EF Is described as mental processes that enable planning, focusing attention, remembering instructions, and juggling multiple tasks successfully. It’s like the brain’s version of the traffic control system at Heathrow airport. EF is responsible for prioritising tasks, setting and achieving goals, filtering distractions, and controlling impulses. (“Executive Function & Self- Regulation,” 2015)

Imbalances in Discrete EF neurotransmitters such as Dopamine (which are responsible for task shifting, working memory and response inhibition) were reported to be responsible for many EF cognitive process difficulties. (Demetriou, DeMayo, & Guastella, 2019)

Reviews of these and other EF assessments highlighted inconsistencies, such as learning disabilities and anxiety levels, in methodology- making research unreliable. (Margari et al., 2016)

To effectively understand EF a more systemised approach is required that removes inconsistencies in methods of assessment and reviewer influences. (Demetriou, DeMayo, & Guastella, 2019)

EF is not universal to Autism because although it is prevalent, Autistic’s with above average intelligence are less likely to experience EF problems like controlling impulsive behaviour. (Chown. N, 2017)

EF is not specific to Autism because it fails to provide reasons for Autistic differences like sensory sensitivity and communication preferences. (Margari et al., 2016).

EF is not unique to Autism because other neurological differences like Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and those who suffer brain injuries experience EF difficulties (MEDIAmaker, 2019).

Human development is relative to the individual. Expectations place unnecessary pressure on individuals to meet them. Fail, and they are invited to feel inadequate. “Children aren’t

born with these skills—they are born with the potential to develop them.” (“Executive Function & Self-Regulation,” 2015)

I feel tests conducted on Autistic people without considering the impact of cross neurological communication differences, new environments, strangers, routine changes and transitions, which are known triggers of heightened anxiety (Iyer, 2012) not to mention the post- traumatic stress many Autistic people carry, which, like anxiety, is not a character of Autism but a consequence of unmet needs “The magic equation – autism + environment = outcome” (Beardon, 2017. page 5) affect reliability of results. Unmet basic needs trigger primitive survival responses subsequently taint performance and results.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs depicts basic human needs: survival at the base, then safety, belonging/love, esteem, and self-realisation. (Abulof, 2017)

Only when these basic needs are met can learning take place. (Abraham, 2011)

Computerised testing, in my opinion, would remove bias and the traditional social aspect, which for many Autistic people would reduce anxiety, therefore producing more reliable results. (BPS, 2005)

Central Coherence (CC)

CC is described as “a narrow focus of attention, a focus on parts rather than the whole.” (Gillespie, 2017)

Autistic people are reported to struggle to see the picture as a whole- labelled as lacking CC. “It has long been observed that individuals with autism exhibit peculiar attentional and perceptual abnormalities. (Burack & Al, 2001) Page 149.

I’d like to critique the choice of words ‘Peculiar ’and ‘abnormal’. Both medical model terms, but what if differences like CC were observed in real life situations. Take my ability to hyper focus, yes it causes problems with multitasking, and parenting but it gifts me the ability of spotting details others missed and has prevented errors.

Two groups of Autistic’s completed the Hooper visual organisation test. Line drawings in a jumbled-up jigsaw state, left for each group to piece back together. Both groups had difficulties. However, when asked to name an item from a single piece, nobody struggled. (Jolliffe & Baron-Cohen, 2001) The results do not state all candidates failed, which indicates CC is not universal to Autism.

Patients with right-hemisphere brain damage demonstrated pragmatic deficits, just like the Autistic group, with tasks requiring CC (Martin & McDonald, 2003), which suggests CC is not unique to Autism.

One Autistic ability; isolating individual details from a visually loud scene has been observed using the Where’s Wally books. Sighted Autistic and PNT children were asked to look at a scene to find the infamous character, Wally. The results showed that the Autistic’s were considerably more adept than the PNT’s at spotting the targets. The researchers used eye tracking technology. This method reduces human error in the contextualisation and interpretation of the test. (Pierce et al., 2016) The use of a universally accessible medium

(the Where’s Wally picture scene) and tracking of innate biological reactions. “Eye tracking allows researchers to infer the cognitive processes without the participant having to answer questions verbally." (Sandle, 2018).

Another test that demonstrates positively; Autistic (A) and PNT (P) children were asked to complete a jigsaw. The A team were able to complete the jigsaw facing up and down. The P team were only able to complete the jigsaw with the image showing. (Frith & Hermelin,1969).

“It is not necessarily the case that PNT’s dislike new ideas; they might simply be unable to detect them because of symbolic filtering.”(Ford & Hamilton, 2010) page 32. PNT’s may just assume as a result of their filtering system. This could be referred to as ‘Psychological Colonialism ’(Lechêne, 2021).

I do not see CC as a deficit. We require more time to process every detail and build our own interpretation. The PNT applies their filter, concluding much faster but often with less detail (details that did not fit through the filter’s holes). Surely, it is better to reach an accurate conclusion than an incomplete one and given optimum provisions, each Neurotype can flourish intuitively.

Many of my relationships; when misunderstandings occur, cause what I call ‘the loop of doom’. A cycle of multi-layered over thinking, explaining and solution seeking that prevents me from participating in the moment, which, historically for me, PNT’s are seen running for the hills.


If PNT’s subconsciously believe that successful relationships do not have conflict then in my opinion this allows conflict to destroy relationships because it is perceived as a marker for personal failing but to me it is necessary, again perpetuating the message that my Autistic ways are unhealthy. (Becca Sangwin, 2016)

Some important considerations I feel need to be mentioned before I conclude. It became apparent that testing excludes Autistic people with Learning disabilities (Russell et al., 2019) and I believe it remains unknown what Autism without trauma looks like on a large scale because of historical and current ignorance around the subject of Autism. (Roscigno, 2021, n.d.) This leaves gaps in data and raises questions as to the uniqueness, specificity, universality and reliability of any Autistic theories.

If medical research is to be of benefit to the community, I feel there needs to be a change in research methodology. And so rather than looking for evidence to meet an agenda it needs to be “self-evident” (“Rothschild and medicine.,” 1972) page 323

This person centred approach could remove the negative repercussions that historical and current justification lead research creates. (“Rothschild and medicine.,” 1972) Page 323.


Conclusion

I believe Autism theories do create negative perceptions of Autistic people. My reasoning. Theories are just that- theories. To assume they are facts prevents growth. I did not find the three cognitive theories of Autism to be universal, specific or unique to Autism. The narrative of each theory appears flawed, pejorative and damaging - fixated on turning what could be

strengths into deficits. And so, like the use of GPS tracking maps, it is important not to mindlessly obey every command without applying personal judgment. Society needs to ensure not to apply the theories unquestioningly.

Through my research of ToM, CC and EF, the need to negatively define Autism became apparent. The expectations based on PNT norms set the Autistic candidates up to fail. Maybe because of the PNT’s symbolic web disallowing acceptance of difference, combined with their lack of Autistic perspective, ironically, leading to the exclusion of Autistic input. Run this cycle again - the pattern repeats itself. Include Autistic input- the pattern has a chance to evolve.

The questionable methods of testing Autistic people, the interpretation of results, the prolific use of medical model terminology and the overwhelming emphasis on this model all contribute to a negative and dehumanising association with the word Autism.

From my findings It appears there is a need for a collaboration of Autistic professionals, medical research and input from the Autistic community throughout all the stages of Autism research and theory making. This could make way for a more accurate narrative of Autism that describes it as an equal, natural human variation necessary for the survival of humanity. The more understanding that is built around what it truly means to be Autistic, the differences of PNT and Autistic brain wiring and how that alters our perspectives, the need to dispel the illusion of Autistic deficit that exist when Autistic needs are not met,

then the more chance there is of putting right the wrongs that ensue because of historical false beliefs, biased research and incorrect assumptions. Society does not yet know what

Autism, without trauma, looks like on a large scale and without this, society does not truly hold an accurate representation of Autism. Once the truths have filtered down through society, diluted the damage and upcoming generations openly exposed to the diversity of humanity then Autistic people may have a chance of acceptance rather than just awareness. This could allow for those not yet identified as Autistic an opportunity to feel seen and accepted, without having to go through the perils of the current diagnosis process.


Autism is one word that has a boundless projection of stories behind it. Each Autistic person’s story is different, relative and unique to them. It is purely a topic that is heterogeneous, and I believe no amount of observation, research or study will ever produce the perfect theory of Autism, or for that matter, any neurological difference. What is needed are theories that are suitably flexible enough to encompass the wide variety of people on the spectrum that focuses solely on an outcome that benefits the Autistic community while ensuring the emotional and physical protection of all involved.



References :


(PDF) Theory of Mind in normal development and autism. (2001). Retrieved December 21, 2020, from ResearchGate website: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/238603356_Theory_of_Mind_in_normal_d evelopment_and_autism

Abraham. (2011). Maslow: Basic Needs and Learning. Retrieved from http://fanconij.faculty.mjc.edu/theoriest.pdf

Abulof, U. (2017). Introduction: Why We Need Maslow in the Twenty-First Century. Society, 54(6), 508–509. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12115-017-0198-6

Baron-Cohen, S. (2019, April 30). The Concept of Neurodiversity Is Dividing the Autism Community. Retrieved January 17, 2021, from Scientific American Blog Network website: https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observations/the-concept-of- neurodiversity-is-dividing-the-autism-community/

Beardon, L. (2017). Autism and Asperger syndrome in adults. London: Sheldon Press. Becca Sangwin. (2016, September 30). Conflict is a Normal and Natural Part of Your “Happily Ever After.” Retrieved January 24, 2021, from The Gottman Institute

website: https://www.gottman.com/blog/conflict-normal-natural-part-happily-ever/ Borrell-Carrio, F. (2004). The Biopsychosocial Model 25 Years Later: Principles, Practice, and Scientific Inquiry. The Annals of Family Medicine, 2(6), 576–582.

https://doi.org/10.1370/afm.245

Brewer, N., Young, R. L., & Barnett, E. (2017). Erratum to: Measuring Theory of Mind in

Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 47(7), 1942–1943. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10803-017-3150-0



Burack, J. A., & Al, E. (2001). The development of autism : perspectives from theory and research. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum.

CDC. (2016, April 18). Diagnostic Criteria. Retrieved January 17, 2021, from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/hcp- dsm.html

Chown, N. (2017). Understanding and evaluating autism theory. London: Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

Chown, N., & Beardon, L. (2017). Theoretical Models and Autism. Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders, 1–7. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4614-6435-8_102171-1

Chown, N., Robinson, J., Beardon, L., Downing, J., Hughes, L., Leatherland, J., ... MacGregor, D. (2017). Improving research about us, with us: a draft framework for inclusive autism research. Disability & Society, 32(5), 720–734. https://doi.org/10.1080/09687599.2017.1320273

Demetriou, E. A., DeMayo, M. M., & Guastella, A. J. (2019). Executive Function in Autism Spectrum Disorder: History, Theoretical Models, Empirical Findings, and Potential as an Endophenotype. Frontiers in Psychiatry, 10(). https://doi.org/10.3389/fpsyt.2019.00753Accessed 17/01/21.

Disability in the Early 20th century 1914-1945 | Historic England. (2019). Retrieved January 21, 2021, from Historicengland.org.uk website: https://historicengland.org.uk/research/inclusive-heritage/disability-history/1914- 1945/.

Disability Models, Tragedy, and Identity – Change.org Autism Issues Archive. (n.d.). Retrieved December 21, 2020, from http://doraraymaker.com/change/2009/03/22/disability-models-tragedy-and-identity/



Executive Function & Self-Regulation. (2015). Retrieved January 4, 2021, from Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University website: https://developingchild.harvard.edu/science/key-concepts/executive-function/

Feinstein, A. (2011). A history of autism conversations with the pioneers. Chichester Wiley- Blackwell.

Fletcher-Watson, S., & Happé, F. (2019). Autism. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315101699 Ford, I., & Hamilton, S. (2010). A field guide to earthlings : an autistic/asperger view of neurotypical behavior ; covers nuances of friendship, dating, small talk, interpersonal conflicts, image learning styles, social communication, common sense, white lies,

and much more! Albuquerque, Nm: Ian Ford Software Corporation.

FRITH, C. D. (2004). Schizophrenia and theory of mind. Psychological Medicine, 34(3),

385–389. https://doi.org/10.1017/s0033291703001326

Furlan, E., Stoklosa, J., Griffiths, J., Gust, N., Ellis, R., Huggins, R. M., & Weeks, A. R.

(2012). Small population size and extremely low levels of genetic diversity in island populations of the platypus,Ornithorhynchus anatinus. Ecology and Evolution, 2(4), 844–857. https://doi.org/10.1002/ece3.195

Geng, X. (2010). Culture Influence over Words and Phrases. Journal of Language Teaching and Research, 1(4). https://doi.org/10.4304/jltr.1.4.512-514

Gillespie, G. (2017). Attention with a Narrow Focus. Autonomy, the Critical Journal of Interdisciplinary Autism Studies, 1(5). Retrieved from http://www.larry- arnold.net/Autonomy/index.php/autonomy/article/view/AR19

Government Digital Service. (2012, January 13). Disability rights. Retrieved December 20, 2020, from GOV.UK website: https://www.gov.uk/rights-disabled-person



Hirvikoski, T., Mittendorfer-Rutz, E., Boman, M., Larsson, H., Lichtenstein, P., & Bölte, S. (2016). Premature mortality in autism spectrum disorder. British Journal of Psychiatry, 208(3), 232–238. https://doi.org/10.1192/bjp.bp.114.160192

Horowitch, R., Dec 18, & 2020. (n.d.). Yale study on distress in autistic toddlers draws ethics concerns. Retrieved January 14, 2021, from yaledailynews.com website: https://yaledailynews.com/blog/2020/12/18/yale-study-on-distress-in-autistic- toddlers-draws-ethics-concerns/

https://www.facebook.com/verywell. (2019). How Empathy Can Improve Your Relationships. Retrieved January 24, 2021, from Verywell Mind website: https://www.verywellmind.com/cognitive-and-emotional-empathy-4582389

Hughes, B. (2009). Disability activisms: social model stalwarts and biological citizens. Disability & Society, 24(6), 677–688. https://doi.org/10.1080/09687590903160118

Hunt, P. (2020). Paul Hunt. Retrieved January 21, 2021, from National Disability Arts Collection & Archive website: https://the-ndaca.org/the-people/paul-hunt/.

Is Autism a Disorder? | Luke Beardon: Perspectives on Autism. (n.d.). Retrieved January 8, 2021, from blogs.shu.ac.uk website: https://blogs.shu.ac.uk/autism/2018/07/17/is- autism-a-disorder/?doing_wp_cron=1607970950.7393739223480224609375.

Iyer, A. (2012). From Anxiety to Meltdown: How Individuals on the Autism Spectrum Deal with Anxiety, Experience Meltdowns, Manifest Tantrums, and How You Can Intervene Effectively

Deborah Lipsky

Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2011, £13.99, pb, 240 pp. ISBN: 9781849058438. The Psychiatrist, 36(4), 158–158. https://doi.org/10.1192/pb.bp.111.037234



Jolliffe, T., & Baron-Cohen, S. (2001). A test of central coherence theory: Can adults with high-functioning autism or Asperger syndrome integrate fragments of an object? Cognitive Neuropsychiatry, 6(3), 193–216. https://doi.org/10.1080/13546800042000124

Kapp, Steven. K. (Ed.). (2020). Autistic community and the neurodiversity movement : stories from the frontline. Singapore: Palgrave Macmillan.

Kenny, L., Hattersley, C., Molins, B., Buckley, C., Povey, C., & Pellicano, E. (2015). Which terms should be used to describe autism? Perspectives from the UK autism community. Autism, 20(4), 442–462. https://doi.org/10.1177/1362361315588200

Lechêne, J. (n.d.). Joris Lechêne on TikTok. Retrieved from TikTok website: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZSKj5TUY/Autistic ADHD vlogger.

Living with Cerebral Palsy |. (n.d.). Retrieved January 25, 2021, from Living with Cerebral Palsy website: http://www.livingwithcerebralpalsy.com/

Macari, S. L., Vernetti, A., & Chawarska, K. (2020). Attend Less, Fear More: Elevated Distress to Social Threat in Toddlers With Autism Spectrum Disorder. Autism Research. https://doi.org/10.1002/aur.2448

Margari, L., Craig, F., Margari, F., Legrottaglie, A., Palumbi, R., & De Giambattista, C. (2016). A review of executive function deficits in autism spectrum disorder and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment, 1191. https://doi.org/10.2147/ndt.s104620

Martin, I., & McDonald, S. (2003). Weak coherence, no theory of mind, or executive dysfunction? Solving the puzzle of pragmatic language disorders. Brain and Language, 85(3), 451–466. https://doi.org/10.1016/s0093-934x(03)00070-1



MEDIAmaker. (2019). Executive dysfunction. Retrieved December 12, 2020, from Headway.org.uk website: https://www.headway.org.uk/about-brain- injury/individuals/effects-of-brain-injury/executive-dysfunction/

Milton, D. (2016). Re-thinking autism: diagnosis, identity and equality. Disability & Society, 31(10), 1413–1415. https://doi.org/10.1080/09687599.2016.1221666

Milton, D. (2018). The double empathy problem - Kent Academic Repository. Kent.ac.uk. https://doi.org/https://kar.kent.ac.uk/66366/1/The%20double%20empathy%20proble m%20%28PDF%20Ready%29.pdf

National Association of the Deaf - NAD. (2019). Retrieved November 5, 2020, from www.nad.org website: https://www.nad.org/resources/american-sign- language/community-and-culture-frequently-asked-questions

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. (2000). Autism spectrum disorder fact sheet | national institute of neurological disorders and stroke. Retrieved December 1, 2020, from Nih.gov website: https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact- Sheets/Autism-Spectrum-Disorder-Fact-Sheet

Pearson, A. (2020). Alexandra Pearson on TikTok. Retrieved January 25, 2021, from TikTok website: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZSKj4DYJ/Autistic Vlogger.

physiopedia. (2013). Biopsychosocial Model. Retrieved November 8, 2020, from Physiopedia website: https://www.physio-pedia.com/Biopsychosocial_Model

Pierce, K., Marinero, S., Hazin, R., McKenna, B., Barnes, C. C., & Malige, A. (2016). Eye Tracking Reveals Abnormal Visual Preference for Geometric Images as an Early Biomarker of an Autism Spectrum Disorder Subtype Associated With Increased



Symptom Severity. Biological Psychiatry, 79(8), 657–666.

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.biopsych.2015.03.032

Raj, D. K. (2021, January 6). Dr Karan Raj on TikTok. Retrieved January 25, 2021, from

TikTok website: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZSKjyjUj/

Robertson, S. M. (2009). Neurodiversity, Quality of Life, and Autistic Adults: Shifting

Research and Professional Focuses onto Real-Life Challenges. Disability Studies

Quarterly, 30(1). https://doi.org/10.18061/dsq.v30i1.1069

Roscigno, R. (2021). Autism Education Robin on TikTok. Retrieved January 25, 2021, from

TikTok website: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZSKjyjG9/Autistic Vlogger.

Rothschild and medicine. (1972). BMJ, 1(5796), 323–324.

https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.1.5796.323

Russell, G., Mandy, W., Elliott, D., White, R., Pittwood, T., & Ford, T. (2019). Selection bias

on intellectual ability in autism research: a cross-sectional review and meta-analysis.

Molecular Autism, 10(1). https://doi.org/10.1186/s13229-019-0260-x

Sanbonmatsu, D. M., Vanous, S., & Posavac, S. S. (2014). The Multiple Roles of Attitudes in Decision Making. Retrieved January 21, 2021, from ResearchGate website:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/228197044_The_Multiple_Roles_of_Attitu

des_in_Decision_Making

Sandle, T. (2018, May 15). Autism research advanced by eye tracking technology: Interview

(Includes interview). Retrieved January 8, 2021, from www.digitaljournal.com website: http://www.digitaljournal.com/tech-and-science/science/autism-research- advanced-by-eye-tracking-technology-interview/article/522282



Sasson, N. J., Faso, D. J., Nugent, J., Lovell, S., Kennedy, D. P., & Grossman, R. B. (2017). Neurotypical Peers are Less Willing to Interact with Those with Autism based on Thin Slice Judgments. Scientific Reports, 7(1). https://doi.org/10.1038/srep40700

Scope. (2014). Social model of disability | Disability charity Scope UK. Retrieved November 5, 2020, from Scope website: https://www.scope.org.uk/about-us/social-model-of- disability/

Signs of Autism | AUsome | How to identify an Autistic person. (2020, December 9). Retrieved January 7, 2021, from AUsome website: https://ausometraining.com/signs- of-autism/

SuperUser. (2013). Sally Anne Test - Educate Autism. Retrieved January 20, 2021, from Educateautism.com website: http://www.educateautism.com/infographics/sally- anne-test.html

Swaine, Z. (2011). Medical Model. Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology, 1542–1543. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-0-387-79948-3_2131

The History Press | Dr. Guttman and the Paralympic movement. (2012). Retrieved January 20, 2021, from Thehistorypress.co.uk website: https://www.thehistorypress.co.uk/articles/dr-guttman-and-the-paralympic- movement/

. (2005). International Guidelines on Computer-Based and Internet Delivered Testing Version 2005 International Test Commission. Retrieved from https://ptc.bps.org.uk/sites/ptc.bps.org.uk/files/guidance_documents/international_g uidelines_on_computer-based_and_internet_delivered_tests.pdf


Please dont forget to ‘like’ if you’ve enjoyed this read.



184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page