top of page
Search

When you find out your Autistic identity - what next?



There’s very little know on what Autism looks like without trauma - remember that when you're reading about Autism. There are plenty of false pejorative narratives written about Autism by non-autistic people so I recommend reading only material written/created by Autistic people sharing their unique Autistic experiences.


first of all - allow yourself to grieve - it took me 2 years to grieve the 40 years I’d lost not knowing who I was and never living - just ‘coping’ and copying others in order to avoid unwanted attention and gain a sense of acceptance that all humans need.


Every feeling you have is fleeting, like the ebb and flow of the sea - always moving you forwards and in approximately 2 years from now you’ll be in a much better place. I’m 5 years into understanding myself and looking back the difference in me is profound. I am more confident and resilient. Wrong labels no longer stick - because I have the correct labels now and I understand the meaning behind them.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page