top of page
Search

My Autistic Self Image.

Updated: Aug 29, 2021

Thoughts on my self image through my Autistic lens.

I think that maybe I don’t like having my photograph taken as there is, for me, a sense of a loss of control because I don’t know what the photo is going to look like & I’m not going to be able to delete it or get rid of it if it’s not to my satisfaction.

I think seeing my reflection so differently (distorted self image) to what onlookers see might be influenced by these factors:

A bit like hearing my own voice as I am speaking compared to hearing my own voice recording played back. What I hear on playback compared to what I hear inside my own head is different because I’m hearing my voice without the added vibrations of my head and body. I guess from 4D to 3D but instead of my voice it’s my self image.

I see everything (no filter) which is what got me thinking that it’s probably why I don’t like looking at myself in a mirror when other people are also looking in that mirror. I am okay on my own but as soon as other people enter the mirror frame and look into the mirror, I can’t look at myself. Maybe this is because I think they see what I see. different cognitive empathy processing?


Oh well. More thinking to do I feel.

Please dont forget to ‘like’ if you’ve enjoyed this read.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page