top of page
Search

An Autistic insight - Passionate Interests

Updated: Oct 26, 2023


Written by Vicki Green - my first Autistic best friend.


The autistic who is seemingly'obsessed' with football - watching it, playing it, reading about it, going to matches of the local team, playing football computer games, talking about football nonstop.

- This can happened rapidly. To go from not interested to 100mph with it in a blink of an eye.


As an Autistic, being given the opportunity to observe this from the outside looking in - it’s been fascinating for me to see how quickly a special interest forms, how rapidly it goes from nothing to all-encompassing.


I get obsessed about things all the time - it’s just something that happens - it always has, and it will do till the day I die. I don’t know the hows or the whys, it’s nothing then suddenly it’s everything.


The NT has interests, but I see how they differ - they aren’t as powerful and they don’t become everything to them.


It’s been interesting to see this happen. How quickly a special interest forms, how powerful it can be, and the sheer amount of joy it brings that person.


So let’s celebrate those passionate interests - even if I do get bored senseless hearing the minuscule details about the football game they played at the weekend!


Vicki Green, 2023.



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page